IELTS test location and test fees

Search here across 1,100 test locations in more than 140 countries. See test dates and test fees for each location under More Information.

Need IELTS or IELTS Life Skills as part of your application to UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI)?

Search here for test dates and locations. If you are applying for a Tier 4 student visa, you may not need to take an IELTS for UKVI. More about IELTS for UKVI and IELTS Life Skills.

What is IELTS and where can I take it?

IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a globally recognised English Language exam, designed to assess the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication. It is accepted by the majority of universities and further education colleges in the UK, Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa as well as a large number of institutions in the United States. It is also recognised by professional bodies, immigration authorities and other government agencies. IELTS is jointly managed by the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL), the British Council and IDP: IELTS Australia. It can be taken at Test Centres world-wide on fixed days throughout the year.

IELTS is offered in two formats – Academic and General Training. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking modules and there is an option of either Academic or General Training Reading and Writing modules. Academic is suitable for students wishing to enter an undergraduate or postgraduate study programme. General Training is suitable for candidates planning to undertake non-academic training, or work experience, or for immigration purposes. Further information about the exam can be obtained from the IELTS website

2 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments